18 APRIL 2024



SUFFOLK JOINT STANDARDS BOARD SUB-COMMITTEE

DECISIONS NOTICE

DECISIONS BY THE SUFFOLK JOINT STANDARDS SUB-COMMITTEE ON THURSDAY, 18 APRIL 2024

Sub-Committee Members:

Councillor Lavinia Hadingham (Chair) Councillor Lucy Elkin Councillor Adrienne Marriott

Subject Member:

Councillor Derek Davis – Babergh District Council

Officers:

T Halliday – Head of Legal Services, Babergh, Mid Suffolk and West Suffolk District Councils (Legal Advisor to the Sub-Committee)

J Robinson – Interim Monitoring Officer, Babergh & Mid Suffolk District Councils

J Snell – Deputy Monitoring Officer, Babergh & Mid Suffolk District Councils

A Norman – Lead Officer – Monitoring Officer, Babergh & Mid Suffolk District Councils

C Philpot – Lead Officer Planning, Babergh & Mid Suffolk District Councils (Clerk)

On the 18 April 2024 the Suffolk Joint Standards Sub-Committee for Babergh and Mid Suffolk met to consider the non-compliance of sanctions imposed by the Deputy Monitoring Officer on Councillor Davis.

The Deputy Monitoring Officer outlined the code of conduct complaint made against Councillor Davis by M Alden in November 2023, and provided an overview of the process that had been undertaken in consideration of those complaints, along with the sanctions imposed on him by the BMSDC Monitoring Office.

Councillor D. Davis put forward his reasonings for not complying with the sanctions imposed, stating that an apology from him to the Complainant would lack meaning and integrity as he did

not believe he had acted wrongly.

Decision

We are not here to re-investigate the complaint and are satisfied with the Deputy Monitoring Officer's decision in this matter. However, noting Councillor Davis' firm opposition to apologising for the breach we are instead formally censuring him and consider this matter closed.

Councillor Lavinia Hadingham, Chair